History

St Ninian’s was opened in 1936 when it was known as St Ninian’s Episcopal Mission, Seaton. As the name suggests St Ninian’s has always been a mission oriented church, especially under their first priest the Reverend Ian Forbes Begg who stayed at St Ninian’s until he was made Bishop of Aberdeen and Orkney in 1972. In the mid-1980s the church was refurbished and the land around it sold to a developer who built Livingstone Court, a complex for the elderly.

The Rev’d Samantha Ferguson joined us at Advent 2010 we held a congregational conference when it was decided to focus on three missional areas: reaching out to our elderly residents; schools chaplaincy; and outreach via student chaplaincy to our local students. As a result we have built up a vibrant student ministry which includes a Sunday evening service during term time and a student led praise band. We also have a monthly service shared with the local Church of Scotland in Lord Hay’s Court (a local tower block), and ecumenical ties with local churches via Donside Christian Partnership. We work with the minister at St Mary’s Church of Scotland and the Pastor of Seaton Community Church to provide the chaplaincy team at Seaton Primary School.

In August 2015 we were delighted to welcome Rev’d Joan Lyon as our Priest-In-Charge. Our regular worship continues with steadily increasing attendance; engagement with the local community is expressed through regualr ‘coffee afternoons’ and similar events.